Product detail

Three Day Road

Three Day Road

Author: Joseph Boyden
$24.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

First published in 2005, this beautiful, haunting novel begins as Niska is reunited with her nephew, Xavier, after he returns from the horrors of the First World War. As she slowly paddles her canoe on the three day journey to take him home, travelling through the stark but stunning landscape of Northern Canada, their respective stories emerge. Niska is the last Cree Indian woman living off the land in Canada. She recalls her memories of growing up among her kinsfolk, of trying to remain true to her ancestors and traditions in a rapidly changing world. Niska realises that in the aftermath of war, Xavier's very soul is dying - but will the three day journey home be enough to help him heal? This is a remarkable novel and sits on my shelf along side Sebastien Barry's "Long Long Way'.

Promotion info

For fans of Birdsong, The Ghost Road or Cold Mountain Great new cover for paperback Rights have sold at auction to Penguin USA and Canada, and in France, Holland, Italy and Spain. A top ten bestseller in Canada. 'There have been so many novels inspired by the First World War that to read one that is not just harrowing, but fresh, comes as a pleasant surprise...a real page-turner...poignant and convincing' SUNDAY TELEGRAPH 'This novel of a Native American family in the slough of its fortunes alternately amazes and moves' INDEPENDENT 'Boyden tells his story with the starkness and simplicity that does justice to the raw worlds of bush and trench...An absorbing read...as the reader is drawn into the Cree network of spirits, voices and stories' SCOTLAND ON SUNDAY

Reviews

'a rich and moving novel... a story that will be deeply felt by the reader.' THE GOOD BOOK GUIDE

Author description

Joseph Boyden is the author of a collection of stories. he is a regular contributor to a number of magazines in Canada. He divides his time between Ontario and Louisiana, where he teaches English at the University of New Orleans. This is his first novel.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780753820810
  • : Orion Publishing Co
  • : Phoenix (an Imprint of The Orion Publishing Group Ltd )
  • : March 2006
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 26mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Joseph Boyden
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 813.6
  • : 352
  • : First World War fiction